Flax, The Egg in My Pancakes

It’s the Thursday of our spring break vacation, and, as of 7:30 this morning, both of my daughters are G.O.N.E!  Whoo Hoo!! Time to myself!  I start with a cup of Yogi ginger tea, the brand that comes with messages on the end of the tea bag string.  Mine says, “A relaxed mind is a creative mind.”

By 8 a.m. I am in the middle of making some vegan pancakes just so I can get more familiar with a vegan egg substitute—ground flaxseeds, whose reported benefits include being packed with fiber, protein, and Omega 3 fatty acids.  I have had a bag of them for months, and it’s time that I put them to good use.  I read in Vegan with a Vengeance by Isa Chandra Moskowitz that 2 Tablespoons of ground flaxseeds mixed with 3 Tablespoons of water will mimic an egg in things like pancake batter and cookie dough.

I whip up my “egg” according to Ms. Moskowitz’s instructions; then, I mix my “buttermilk” the way I always do by combining a tablespoon of apple cider vinegar with a cup of almond milk.  Almond Breeze Almond Milk (Original) is our favorite because of it’s taste and consistency—it’s not too watery and not too thick.  Soy milk can also be used, but, if nut or soy allergies are an issue, you can use rice milk. 

Armed with my substitutions, I make some pancakes.  I put the first five on the griddle and realize I have some fresh blueberries.  I mash a handful of them and add them to the batter. 

By 8:30 a.m. I sit with another cup of ginger tea and a plate–eight pancakes, plain and blueberry, maple syrup, black strap molasses, and agave nectar.   What’s a mommy with a relaxed, creative mind to do?  Eat up and get on with her day!

Vita’s Vegan Pancakes with Ground Flaxseed

The “Egg”

2 Tablespoons ground flaxseeds whisked together with 3 Tablespoons of water

The “Buttermilk”

1 Tablespoon of apple cider vinegar combined with 1 cup of Almond Milk

Other ingredients

1/4 cup canola oil

1 cup of flour (King Arthur’s brand)

1 1/2 tablespoons raw sugar

2 teaspoons of aluminum free baking powder

1/2 teaspoon sea salt

Variations

fresh blueberries

Directions

Turn on your griddle now.  If you don’t have one, you can use a large cast iron skillet coated with canola oil, but turn the skillet on after the mock egg and mock buttermilk have been made.  Medium heat should do it.

In a large glass bowl that you will use to mix the pancake batter, whisk the tablespoon of ground flaxseeds with 3 tablespoons of water and set aside.  In a small bowl, make the vegan buttermilk by whisking 1 tablespoon of apple cider vinegar and 1 cup of almond milk and set aside.  In a medium bowl, mix together the dry ingredients—the flour, raw sugar, baking powder and sea salt.  Set aside. 

By this time, the buttermilk should be good and curdled.  Pour the vegan buttermilk into the bowl with the “egg” and whisk these ingredients together.  Then, whisk in 1/4 cup of oil.  After these wet ingredients are well mixed together, sift the dry ingredients into the bowl with the wet.  Using a big spoon, stir until the ingredients are well combined.  A few lumps are ok. 

The griddle or skillet should be nice and hot.  With a household tablespoon, pour a spoonful of batter on the griddle; then, working quickly, pour three more spoonfuls into the center of the first one to form a perfectly round pancake.  If it’s less than perfect, use the spoon to gently manipulate the batter until you’ve formed a round one.  Repeat until you’ve put as many pancakes as you can on the griddle or in the skillet.  When bubbles form on the pancakes and the edges become dry, turn the pancake over using a spatula.  Do not press the pancake.  After about three minutes or so, see if the pancake looks done on the other side and remove. 

After I made five plain pancakes, I mashed about 3 tablespoons of fresh blueberries in a small bowl and stirred them into the remaining batter.  I was able to get three blueberry pancakes in all. 

Serve topped with maple syrup, molasses, or agave nectar.

Enjoy and tell me about your favorite egg substitute?

About Levita Mondie

Through Vita's Vegan Ventures, I share my passion for and knowledge of life-affirming vegan cuisine, including Soul Food, Mexican, Italian, Indian, Ghanaian and more. Contact me at vitasveganventures@gmail.com to schedule cooking classes, demonstrations, lectures, and more. See more details at https://vitasveganventures.wordpress.com/ .
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Flax, The Egg in My Pancakes

  1. Melba M. says:

    Flax is my favorite egg substitute, but I have made my own version of Ener-G dry mix when I didn’t want the subtle nutty flavor or color from flax in my finished product. My omnivore sister wanted to invite me to a brunch a few months ago and called me for suggestions for egg replacements so she could include “vegan” foods for both myself and my husband on her menu. I suggested a 1:1 ratio of ground flax to water for the waffles, and she has been substituting flax and non-dairy milk in her waffles ever since.

  2. Maria says:

    The recipe worked wonderfully. I did swap the canola oil for coconut, and only used 3T. I also noticed that the longer u let ur batter sit, at least 15 mins., the fluffier they get.
    Thanx

Leave a Reply

