Vegan Sweet Potato Pie Recipe

a delicious slice of vegan sweet potato pie

Sweet potato pie is one of my all time favorite desserts that I grew up eating in Memphis, Tennessee.  On my vegan journey, though, I’ve rarely made it.

Then, recently I was asked to make five pies for the graduation reception at my school.  Even though I haven’t had much experience making vegan sweet potato pies and even though I am super busy with end of the year activities, the job somehow got done.

I started by reviewing two recipes, one for vegan pumpkin pie and the other for vegan sweet potato pie.  Looking at multiple versions of recipes is part of my cooking process.  I’m looking to see if the ingredients will be simple and easy to find.  I’m also looking to see how much time the recipe will take and if there are simple ways to create short cuts.  Furthermore, I look for recipes that I might be able to modify easily.  I found such a recipe on The Witchy Kitchen Blog.

The listed ingredients seemed simple and easy to find, with the exception of the vegan yogurt, which I don’t typically see at chain grocery stores like the Giant near my home.  For the yogurt, I substituted Mori Nu firm silken tofu, which I almost always see in the produce section of regular supermarkets.

The pie crust from The Witchy Kitchen sounded absolutely delicious but called for pecans and peanut butter.  Because I work in a school environment among kids with severe nut allergies, I omitted the nuts all together and modified the recipe so much so that it became my own.

Because I relied on my food processor, the filling and crust were super fast and easy to make.  The filling was fast because I peeled, sliced and then steamed the potatoes rather than baked them.  The crust was easy because the food processor did the hard work and, rather than roll the dough, I simply pressed it evenly into the pans.  I assembled the pies, baked them, let them cool overnight, had a slice for breakfast, and enjoyed the delicious results.

Try the recipe for yourself and let me know how yours turns out.

Vegan Sweet Potato Pie

Pie Filling

2 Organic Sweet Potatoes (to yield 1 1/2 Cups cooked sweet potato)

3/4 Cup Sugar in the Raw

2 Tbsp. Corn Starch

steamed sweet potato

3/4 Tsp. Cinnamon

1/4 Tsp. Nutmeg

Pinch of Salt

1 Tsp. Vanilla

3/4 Cup Rice, Soy or Almond Milk, such as Almond Breeze Unsweetened Almond Milk

12.3 Oz Mori Nu Firm Silkened Tofu

Vita’s Vegan Pie Crust

1 1/2 Cups Old Fashioned Rolled Oats

vegan, gluten-free crusts made with oats and dates

8 Dates (with the pits removed)

3 Tbsp. Canola Oil

3 Tbsp. Ice Water

Dash of salt

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Place a steamer basket in the bottom of a large pot.  Add water enough to touch the bottom of the steamer basket.  Cover the pot with a tightly fitting lid.  On high heat, bring the water to a  boil.  As the water comes to a boil, peel the potatoes and cut into thick slices.  Place the slices on the steamer basket and replace the lid.  Be careful not to let the water boil dry and, if necessary, feel free to add more water.

Crust. While the potatoes are steaming, prepare the crust.  Add oats to the food processor and pulse until the oats resemble course corn meal.  Add dates (with pits removed) and pulse until oats and dates are thoroughly mixed.  Add oil, water, and salt and pulse for another 30 seconds.

Coat a 9 inch pie plate with cooking spray.  Transfer the mixture from the food processor to the pie plate and, using your very clean hands, evenly press the mixture over the entire pie plate.

Filling. Rinse the food processor and use it to make the pie filling.  Add all of the filling ingredients to the food processor and blend until the mixture is smooth.  Add the mixture to the crust and bake on the middle rack of the oven for 50 – 55 minutes.  Allow to cool for at least 3 hours.

Enjoy!

About Levita Mondie

Through Vita's Vegan Ventures, I share my passion for and knowledge of life-affirming vegan cuisine, including Soul Food, Mexican, Italian, Indian, Ghanaian and more. Contact me at vitasveganventures@gmail.com to schedule cooking classes, demonstrations, lectures, and more. See more details at https://vitasveganventures.wordpress.com/ .
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Vegan Sweet Potato Pie Recipe

  1. Anna Howe says:

    Levita, please don’t think that I am surprised that the food you make is blissfully delicious…in fact, everything I have tasted of yours has been fabulous–but this pie takes the cake! (ahem, sorry for that but I couldn’t resist). In all seriousness, this pregnant lady is addicted to your Vegan Sweet Potato Pie! I dreamt of these pies all weekend since sampling one last week and now, today, I received the gift of a whole pie of my very own!!! 4 pieces later I have finally started to share with family. Everyone is in awe. These pies are magic. I’m actually going to try my hand at making this recipe on my own. Thank you, friend. Anna 😉 xo

    • lmondie says:

      I always say if a child likes my food, then it must be delicious. I never thought about this in terms of an unborn child, but hey I’ll take the compliment. I’m glad you are loving the pies. Actually I’m THRILLED that a preganant lady is CRAVING a dish of mine. That might be the biggest compliment ever.

  2. Beth says:

    Hi !
    Thanks for posting! I am going to try to make this pie for thanksgiving. I wanted to know if we can substitute almond milk with soy milk since my son has allergies to nuts. Also if I am not able to get the firm silkened tofu, are there any substitutes?

    Thanks,
    Beth

    • Thank you for your inquiry, Beth. I’m so glad to hear you found something you’d like to try. Yes, you can substitute soy milk. Hemp milk is another option. Rice milk is one too, except it tends to be more watery so you probably don’t need the full amount of milk if using the rice milk. Since you will be blending or food processing the ingredients, you can get away with using non-silkened tofu.

      Let me know how your sweet potato pie turns out.

  3. I apologize for the confusion. I meant the tofu does not have to be silkened. You can try a regular (rather than silkened) tofu, in firm or extra firm.

  4. Monica N says:

    I am so excited I found this recipe! My husband has always had fond memories of his Grandmother’s sweet potato pie for the holidays so this year I am going to surprise him with his very own. Going to try it out with rice milk since we pretty much only drink it, can’t wait…and I too am pregnant and am SUPER excited to give this a try. Though I’m not exactly sure what it is “supposed” to taste like since I have never had it before.

    • Thank you, Monica, for your comment. Try it and let me know if your husband thinks it came out the way it is “supposed to” and if the two of you like it. Enjoy the holidays and the rest of your pregnancy!

  5. Pingback: Cooking on TV for the First Time | Vita's Vegan Ventures

  6. Cassie Jo says:

    I made this today for Thanksgiving and it was delicious! My family is from the south but I have never been a huge sweet potato pie fan, in fact this is the first one I’ve ever made, vegan or not. I doubled the recipe, but only had on hand one package of silken tofu and half as much soy milk. It would have been too much filling for the frozen vegan pie crusts anyway (hey, I made an entire vegan T-day dinner today by myself, I’m tired!) Also, I didn’t have cornstarch so I used arrowroot instead, and I baked the sweet potatoes so they would be easier to peel. Over the course of the evening I ate almost half a pie all by myself. I’m bringing the other pie to the office for my colleagues tomorrow before I hurt myself. The next time I will make it with your oatmeal date crust, so I doubt a pie will be leaving the house. 🙂 I stumbled upon your site just doing a search for vegan sweet potato pie, and I’m looking forward to trying more of your recipes. Thanks!

    • Wow!! Nice to meet you, Cassie Jo. This is the type of comment a blogger only dreams of. Thank you so much for trying the recipe. I’m so thrilled that the pie turned out delicious! I am noting the ways you improvised as well. Congratulations on a scrumptious, vegan Thanksgiving feast. Warmest Regards, Levita

  7. I LOVE this pie! I used your crust recipe with another recipe, and unfortunately it burned both times I tried. It wasn’t too burnt, but it could’ve been better. I’m not sure what I’m doing wrong. I think I’ll try your crust recipe by itself when I make this pie again tomorrow.

    Happy Holidays : )

  8. Cassie Jo says:

    Thank you for responding, Levita. Long story short, the pies were still a big hit. I ended up buying one of those $25 Cuisinart mini-prep 4-cup processors at the last minute, but after I completed the second crust I think I burnt the motor out because it won’t start now. I thought it would be able to handle a little oatmeal and dates, but I guess not. I ended up making the last two with a combination of my Vitamix and a hand mixer. However, they didn’t have that “rustic” look and texture of the first two, hard to avoid over processing with the Vitamix. I will definitely get a full sized food processor before trying this again, because the pie is delicious. Enjoy the rest of your week! 🙂

  9. Mark says:

    Hi! Just noticed you blogging about your Fairfax Public Access cable show taping. I, too, did my first tv experience a few days ago, with Jorge and Gina (both vegans). Extraordinary experience and I’m so nervous about seeing how it all went. It’ll be broadcast next month.

    So my congratulations! So much learned, will have to get back to Fairfax next month to see the results. You, by the way, did a great job!

    Best regards, Mark http://www.soulveggie.com (where I posted a quick photo collage… I wrote the 1st vegan pizza cookbook and that’s why I was invited)

Leave a Reply

