What’s Happening in My Food World!

I love love love cooking.  Feeding the minds, bodies and spirits of family, friends and even strangers is what I would do all day every day with my eyes closed and hands tied behind my back when I’m up and when I’m down.  And when I allow myself to just BE in that cooking zone–what I consider my creative, spiritual and sacred space–the Universe pours out more and more food ideas and opportunities, the latest of which I am especially grateful for and happy to share!

199548_1334070969834_3416728_n

Carla Hall and Vita

It’s Lumen8Food Week, July 8th-13th! On Tuesday of this week, I’ll be doing something delicious for Carmen C. Wong’s presentation on beans and the blues!  On Wednesday the 10th, I’ll share healing lemonade recipes, and on Thursday, Chef Carla Hall of ABC’s The Chew and Top Chef fame will do her thing.  These cooking events and others will take place at the Anacostia Arts Center, 1225 Good Hope Rd SE.  Click here for the entire schedule and more details.  In the meantime, you can try my lavender lemonade recipe.

IMG_0150-1

*  Recently, I was interviewed by Annette Nielsen, Food Editor for The Hill Rag and East of the River Magazine.  We had a great fellowship while I made three different kinds of vegan pancakes.  That interview along with the pancake recipes will appear in the July issue of East of the River Magazine in Nielsen’s monthly column “In Your Kitchen.”  The July issue can be picked up around town beginning July 8th!  Read the on-line version of the interview here.

420360_1974522140713_2097525766_n

Jamaican group cooking lesson

*  Throughout the summer, I’ll be doing vegan cooking sessions for cooks 12 and older that will feature hands-on cooking instruction, ethnic vegan cuisines, including Indian, Jamaican, and Soul Food, the history and culture from which these foods come, and fieldtrips.  Click here for delicious details about the summer sessions and  see the fun we had in one of my lessons on Jamaican Cuisine .

I hope to see you, your family and friends at the above events.  In the meantime, please pass along to others via facebook, twitter, email and other outlets and become a follower of Vita’s Vegan Ventures Blog!  As always, thank you for your support!

About Levita Mondie

Through Vita's Vegan Ventures, I share my passion for and knowledge of life-affirming vegan cuisine, including Soul Food, Mexican, Italian, Indian, Ghanaian and more. Contact me at vitasveganventures@gmail.com to schedule cooking classes, demonstrations, lectures, and more. See more details at https://vitasveganventures.wordpress.com/ .
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

