Corn Chowder with a Vegan Twist

By 10:30 this morning, I had created a beautiful pot of corn chowder.  I wanted to make a soup to help my daughter, Yetunde, get over a cold.  The white potato, orange sweet potato, yellow corn, and green specks of fresh basil, sage, and rosemary made a delicious, visual combination.  I made this heartiness with almond milk instead of the heavy cream that traditional corn chowder calls for.  I made sure the almond milk was unsweetened because the added sugar alters the taste in ways I have less control over. Some cooks may worry that, without the cream the soup will not be thick enough, but I find that the starch from the white potatoes is all the thickener that is needed.  I also included chopped, dried, chipotle pepper to add both a spicy kick and the smokiness that might otherwise come from pork in traditional corn chowder.   (A chipotle pepper is a smoked jalapeño pepper by the way.)  The soup tasted better than any corn chowder I’ve ever made or tasted — which for some people might be hard to believe since it was vegan–, but, hey, it’s barely 4 o’clock in the afternoon and the pot of chowder is almost gone.

Vita’s Vegan Corn Chowder

Ingredients

12072778_10201508168904101_5128139161060777211_n

Vita’s Corn Chowder with a Vegan Twist

2 Tablespoons extra virgin olive oil

1/4 cup finely chopped garlic (about 12 cloves)

1 1/2 cups chopped onion (1 medium onion)

1 and 1/2 dried chipotle peppers

3 1/2 to 4 cups Unsweetened Almond Milk (Rice, Soy, Hemp, or another milk substitute will do.)

3 bay leaves

1 1/4 teaspoon sea salt

2 large Russett or other white potatoes cut into cubes

1 medium sweet potato cut into cubes

2 cups corn kernels (Since corn is one of the most genetically modified foods, I strongly suggest using organic corn.)

5 fresh sage leaves finely chopped

5 fresh basil leaves finely chopped

10 fresh rosemary leaves finely chopped

Directions:

In a large 6 quart pot that has a fitting lid, gently heat the olive oil.  Add the chopped garlic and chopped onion. Let soften.  Mix in the chopped chipotle pepper.  Add almond milk, bays leaves, and sea salt. Bring to a gentle boil.  Add the white potato, sweet potato, and corn.  Cover and let cook until the potatoes are tender but firm.  Add the finely chopped sage, basil, and rosemary.  Stir.  Cover and let simmer for 10 – 15 more minutes. (See photos of the ingredients below.)

my favorite brand of almond milk

my favorite brand of almond milk

12074677_10201508167744072_7757013490454661295_n

fresh cloves of garlic

chopped onion

chopped onion

a chipotle pepper

a chipotle pepper

fresh herbs growing on my window seal

fresh herbs growing on my window seal


a white Russet potato and a sweet potato

a white Russet potato and a sweet potato

chopped sage, basil, and rosemary

chopped sage, basil, and rosemary

About Levita Mondie

Through Vita's Vegan Ventures, I share my passion for and knowledge of life-affirming vegan cuisine, including Soul Food, Mexican, Italian, Indian, Ghanaian and more. Contact me at vitasveganventures@gmail.com to schedule cooking classes, demonstrations, lectures, and more. See more details at https://vitasveganventures.wordpress.com/ .
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Corn Chowder with a Vegan Twist

  1. insiderap2 says:

    Hi Vita: This sounds divine! Definitely making a pot this weekend. Did you use fresh or canned corn and do you have measurements for dried herbs in the event I can’t find fresh ones? Love your blog!!

    • Thank you for checking out my blog and for asking excellent questions. I used frozen corn. Cascadian Farms is an organic brand. Fresh off of the cob would work even better. Canned will work as well, but drain and discard the liquid. As for dried herbs, I would suggest 1/2 teaspoon of basil, 1/2 teaspoon of the rosemary and 1/4 teaspoon of the sage to begin with. Add more to taste. Come back again and let me know how your soup turns out.

  2. Nancy says:

    looks like it’ll taste delish! Umm Umm

  3. Joan says:

    I finally got around to trying this recipe tonight. I made it with unsweetened soy milk. It was soooooo good! Thanks girl! Oh and please re-post your sweet potato pie recipe. I want to try that this Thanksgiving.

    • Thank you so much, Joan, for trying out the recipe!!! The biggest compliment to my ears is hearing that the recipe worked and that you enjoyed it! Another post is coming soon about my revised sweet potato pie recipe! Happy Holidays!

Leave a Reply

